About EDI Connections

Having an established Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) connection between Maxwell Health and a carrier or vendor means that Maxwell will securely and automatically provide employee enrollment information to that carrier or vendor. Therefore, you no longer need to manually send enrollment data or notify carriers of changes using forms, reports, websites, or the phone. 

This article provides important information for those who have EDI connections in Maxwell. If you don’t currently have an EDI connection, but are interested in setting one up, contact your Advisor and/or Account Manager for more information.

If you have an EDI connection live with any product, please make sure to:

  • Keep Maxwell up to date and accurate, especially when it comes to terminations
  • Avoid using test employees, and remove any test employees before you go live with Maxwell

Keep Maxwell up to date and accurate

It’s especially important to keep the information stored in Maxwell up to date and accurate when you have an EDI connection in place, as Maxwell serves as the system of record and provides information directly and automatically to the carrier or vendor. The good news is, you shouldn’t need to fill out any reports, forms, or information on the carrier’s website. 

Note: if a dependent’s address is not in the Maxwell system, the EDI file defaults to the employee's address.


This is really important to keep in mind when you terminate an employee. Enter the termination into Maxwell as soon as possible, and be sure to terminate all of the employee’s products with the correct termination date. Not doing so will result in that employee staying active with the carrier. Learn how to terminate employees and their products in Maxwell. 

Avoid using test employees, and remove any test employees before you go live in Maxwell

An EDI file does not differentiate real employee data from test employee data. If you create a test employee in Maxwell and forget to remove them, false information will be sent to carriers, and you could potentially be billed for coverage the carrier has on file for any test employees sent to them. Learn how to delete a test employee. 

Note: A product with the status of "Selected" will not be sent to the carrier. This is important to keep in mind especially when closing out elections due to a new hire or change event and products were pre-selected for the employee so maybe they did not check out of shopping (to put the product in a "Confirmed" status). The "Selected" products will need to be set to "Confirmed" or the enrollment information will not be sent to the carrier. This is because we do not want to send unintentional elections to the carrier. If you need to do this for an individual employee, learn how to change a product’s status or process a product. If you need to do this in bulk for many employees at once,  use the Bulk Process tool.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 3 found this helpful